Pace: U.S. Troops in Iraq Could Rise – Forbes.com

Pace: U.S. Troops in Iraq Could Rise – Forbes.com
BAGHDAD –

The U.S. military is weighing new directions in Iraq, including an even bigger troop buildup if President Bush thinks his “surge” strategy needs a further boost, the chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff said Monday.

Marine Gen. Peter Pace revealed that he and the chiefs of the Army, Marine Corps, Navy and Air Force are developing their own assessment of the situation in Iraq, to be presented to Bush in September. That will be separate from the highly anticipated report to Congress that month by Gen. David Petraeus, the top commander for Iraq.

The Joint Chiefs are considering a range of actions, including another troop buildup, Pace said without making any predictions. He called it prudent planning to enable the services to be ready for Bush’s decision.

One response to “Pace: U.S. Troops in Iraq Could Rise – Forbes.com

  1. I will go to my grave believing the Iraq War was the right thing to do, and God help me if I am wrong. General Petraeus is the only person I cna think of whose opinion on the war is relevant to me. If he needs more troops, then congress should give him the troops. No excuses.

    I am contacting political bloggers around the country, and I apologize in advance if my request is redundant.

    Anyway, I would like it very much if you would go to http://www.bloggerschoiceawards.com/blogs/show/21020 and vote for me for best political blog and best overall blog as well, IF AND ONLY IF you feel my blog is of a high quality. I really think I have a legitimate shot at winning. If you are open to spreading the word, that would be cool as well.

    Thank you.

    eric aka http://www.blacktygrrrr.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

